Wayanad ,located among the Western Ghats ,has a pristine and natural beauty that offers a unique feeling of peace and tranquility.In this serene and nature friendly environment ,some great visionaries conceived a thought. The thought was driven with an aim to provide the best education to the children of north Kerala in general and Wayanad in particular. Thus an ambitious project was launched 25 yrs ago by great minds who conceptualized an institution to give access to children the benefits of education and thereby churn out citizens who will be an asset to our nation. With this vision in mind the steps taken by those visionaries materialized in the form of the most prestigious institution ,named after St.Vincent De Paul ,De Paul Public School took its birth on Dec 18 ,1993 in Kalpetta, the district head quarters of Wayanad. Prior to the formation of De Paul Public School ,this institution was named Sneha Academy that started in 1990, and was located where De Paul Arcade stands today. It functioned under the aegis of 5 shareholders namely Mr.Josekutty ,Mrs.Gracy ,Mr. Joseph, Mrs.Molly and Late Mr.T.V.George, who became the founder principal of De Paul School .When some differences of opinion cropped up between the shareholders and the functioning of the Academy almost came to a standstill ,a plan of action was chalked out by Late Mr.T.V.George, who wanted to carry on the baton of education forward. He along with Rev.Fr. Jacob Narikuzhy approached the then Bishop of Mananthavady , His Excellency.Rt.Rev. Jacob Thoomkuzhy with a suggestion to take over the Academy. The negotiations bore fruit. A Managing Committee was formed with the purpose of getting affiliation from the CBSE Board. The Managing Committee had Rev .Fr.Joseph Kallumkamakal as the manager and consisted of 17 members including Fr. Jacob Narikuzhy ,Fr.Thomas Joseph Therakam ,Fr.George Njaralakkatt, Dr.Mohan Das, Jose Thenamakkal, Sr. Salvia, the then mother superior of De Paul Convent, Smt.K.C.Rosakutty, Johnny Patani, Shanti Prasad, T.V.George etc. On Dec 18 ,1993 Sneha Academy was taken over by Mananthavady Diocese and was christened De Paul Public School . De Paul was registered under Morning Star Educational and Charitable Trust .The first Trust members were Rev .Fr.Joseph Kallumkamakal, Fr. Jacob Narikuzhy , Fr.Thomas Joseph Therakam and Fr.George Njaralakkatt. The total no. of children admitted in 1993 to De Paul were 152 including children absorbed from Sneha Academy. The admission register of 1993 opens with K.S Vishnu whose name tops the list of children who took the admission that year. The school had a team of 14 teaching and non-teaching staff including some Anglo-Indian teachers like Miss.Carmel ,Miss.Brinda, Miss.Kate and Miss.Irene. The then vicar of Vincent De Paul Church Rev.Fr. Jacob Narikuzhy played a pivotal role in this transition. He gave permission to conduct classes in the church till the classes were shifted to the old De Paul building now opposite to our present school building. Boarding facilities for both girls and boys were also given from 1994 to 2004 .There were around 70 boarders in the boarding who felt much at home under the first boarding warden Miss. Marian Jones. In the yr 1995 we had a team of teachers like P.U.Joseph, Mrs.Glory George,Mrs. Reena Babu, Mrs.Viji Sathyan and Mrs.Mary Cordelia, who retired in March 2019, still continue to remain as strong pillars of De Paul. It was in the same year that the foundation for the present building of De Paul school was laid and after the completion of the work the school opened its doors for the first time in 1998 with 127 pupils on roll and classes 8 to std 10 were shifted to the present building.The school’s first administrative body consisted of the Manager Rev .Fr.Joseph Kallumackal, principal Late Mr.T.V.George and head master Late Mr.V.K.Joseph. Some of the previous managers who served our school were Rev. Fr.George, Rev Fr. Saji Pariyapannal, Rev.Fr. Jose Kocharackal, Rev Fr.Augustine Nilackappilly and Rev.Fr. Mathew Perumattikunnel. The founder principal Late Mr.T.V.George retired in 2010 and was replaced by Rev.Fr.Biju Mathew who spear-headed our initiatives till 2017.Thereafter we were under a very inspiring and self-motivated principal Rev.Fr.Johny Kallupura till 2018.Presently we are being led by Rev.Sr.Cristeena SCV.The post of Vice Principal was introduced in 2005 and the first V.P was Mrs. Lucy Jacob who served our school till 2011.Thereafter the post was filled by Mr.P.U.Joseph our present Vice Principal. At this juncture we fondly remember our first Head Master Late Mr.V.K.Joseph whose untimely demise created a vacuum that was later bridged by Mrs.Glory George and Mrs.Sherly (for 3 years)as Head Mistresses. Needless to say that the co-operation and selfless contribution by our office assistants has been a force to reckon with Mrs.Dimna ,Mr.Francis ,Lissy aunty and Mrs.Sujatha have stood through thick and thin times of our school for the last 25 yrs. One soul without whose mention this history of our school itself will be incomplete is our dear Anil uncle whose demise on July 4, 2010 drowned us in the ocean of sorrow .His contribution for the growth of our school is immeasurable. The contribution of these above mentioned leaders and non-teaching staff ,in their own capacities, have helped in the growth of De Paul right from its inception to become one of the most prestigious educational institutions of Wayanad. Our words of gratitude will be insufficient to thank them for their utmost support and inspiration. The first batch of 10th passed out in 1998 and De Paul for the first time reaped its fruits of hard work and diligence. De Paul has been growing with good reputation for excellent teaching and learning. Keeping that in mind the Higher Secondary Section was started and the first batch appeared for AISSCE exams in 2001. Year after year by producing wonderful results in the board exams ,De Paul has proved that to achieve success one has to aim high. The effort has also been vital in the growth of infrastructure of our school. In the last 25 yrs there has been tremendous expansions in the main structure and facilities to cater to the various needs of the school. Apart from the 3 floors of the main building, an additional wing was built attached to the main building, that consists of spacious classes for the K.G. sections, an auditorium, a full fledged library, classrooms, etc. Various science labs, language lab, counselling room, etc are also provided. Over the course of the school’s 25 yrs journey of accomplishments we have always had a team support. And presently in this journey we are led by a strong knit management headed by our supportive Local manager Rev. Fr. Jose Vadayaparambil, an energetic and vibrant principal Rev.Sr.Christeena , Bursar Rev.Fr.Santhosh ,Vice Principal Mr.P.U.Joseph, a team of 80 devoted teaching and non-teaching staff ,a very cooperative parent community and well wishers. We are a well equipped team working tirelessly for the holistic growth of our pupils under the spiritual guidance of our patron H.E.Rt.Rev. Dr. Jose Porunnnedom , Bishop ,Diocese of Mananthavady. In these 25 yrs our school has achieved incredible progress and our stress on quality has shot us to a premium position among other schools in Wayanad. The compelling motivation that drives us to achieve great heights is our determination to maintain our position as the premium institution. Every stride we take is undoubtedly towards that determination. As De Paul completed 25 yrs of historical journey in imparting quality education to children, we realize that we still have miles to go. And as we move ahead let us pray for the blessings of Lord Almighty to take us through the tide of time to cross another 25 yrs and more.